Das Neue Quadrat - Opera Mobile

A project by Rüdiger Carl

Ute Wassermann: voice
Junko Wada: dance
Rüdiger Carl: accordeon, clarinet
Sven-Åke Johansson: percussion

Das Neue Quadrat occasionally moves in several spaces at once, but also all four protagonists in one, 2 in 2, 3 in 1, and 1 in 1 or 4 in 4. A multifaceted image emerges (visually and aurally), scattered and then once again moving together. Thanks to a light instrumentarium without cables, to the singer's quiet shoe soles and lack of a microphone, and to the dance's quality of moving image, opera becomes mobile! SÅJ, '05

Kunsthalle Düsseldorf, 2006

Junko Wada and S-Å Johansson


SÅJ in a room by Martin Honert


SÅJ and Rüdiger Carl / sculpture by Martin Honert